Southern Squash Casserole

Hey everyone! I am back with a new round of recipes. I am sorry that it has been about a month or so since my last post, but I have been super busy and super tired! This recipe and the next 2 recipes that will be posted sometime this week will be casserole dishes. We usually make these side dishes for big dinners like holiday meals, but they are great anytime of the year. This first recipe is a recipe I found somewhere in an internet search a few years back when my husband wanted a squash casserole to go with Thanksgiving dinner. I have never been one to eat squash, but I can actually eat it this way. It is so simple to make and is delicious!

Ingredients
~ 1-1/2 lbs. of squash
~ 1/2 cup of butter or margarine
~ 1 egg
~ 1 small onion, chopped
~ 1 sleeve of Ritz crackers
~ 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese (the recipe calls for this much, but we love cheese so we obviously use more than 3/4 cup 😉 )
~ salt and pepper to taste

squashcass1

Directions:
~ Peel and de-seed the squash.
~ Cut up into chunks and boil until tender.
~ Mash up cooked squash and add the butter, egg, onion, crackers, and sat and pepper. Mix well.

squashcass2

~ Place mixture into a greased dish and sprinkle shredded cheese on top.
~ Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

squashcass2

squashcass4

I wish I had a better picture of the above photo. Unfortunately, it will have to do for now until I get a chance to replace it with a better one.

I hope y’all enjoy this recipe and continue coming back for more good old southern recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

