Homemade Alfredo Sauce (Copycat Olive Garden Recipe)

I know, I know, it’s been a while since I’ve posted and I promised this recipe soon after posting the Chicken Parmesan recipe. I have been so busy because of Thanksgiving and Christmas, working from home, and being pregnant on top of it, it’s just been pretty hectic around here. Anyways, this recipe is a tweaked version of a copycat Olive Garden alfredo sauce recipe. It is so good and you can use this sauce with chicken or shrimp and any combination of vegetables that you like.

Ingredients:
~ 1 pint of heavy cream
~ 1 stick of butter
~ 1-2 cups of parmesan cheese
~ 2-4 cloves of garlic(or if you are using garlic powder, use 1-2 tsp. of garlic powder. You can add more than that depending on your love of garlic.)
~ 1/4 tsp. of salt
~ 1/4 tsp. of white pepper (optional)
~ Half a box of linguine noodles or your choice of noodle (I can never get measurements on noodles right because I always use too many or too little, but when I get around to making this again, I will try to pay better attention to the amount of noodles you need for this recipe.)
~ Half a pint of water or 2 ounces of cream cheese (optional; I personally have not tried it with the cream cheese because I usually forget to pick it up, but you can use water in place of the cream cheese. You will need to use either water or cream cheese though.)

20161116_130341

Directions:
~ Go ahead and boil your noodles and drain when done.
~ Heat your pan on medium high heat. Once it is heated, add your stick of butter and garlic.

20161120_1840511

~ When your garlic starts browning, add your heavy cream and parmesan cheese and whisk until well blended.

20161120_184802

~ Add the salt, pepper, and water/cream cheese and simmer on medium high heat until bubbly. Reduce heat and let it simmer for about 10-15 minutes. Sauce will be thin if you use water, but it will thicken when it starts to cool.
~ Add your noodles to the sauce and stir. Remove from heat and let it sit for 5-10 minutes to give the sauce time to thicken.

20161120_185509

20161120_185200

20161120_190345

20161120_190234

20161120_190549

In the pictures for this recipe, you will see I also added 3 chopped chicken breasts and also about 3 handfuls of fresh spinach to make chicken alfredo. You can use broccoli in place of spinach.You can use shrimp instead of chicken and add parsley to make it shrimp alfredo. You can get several different meals out of this one recipe by changing it up. That is one reason why I love this sauce. I hope y’all love this recipe as much as my family does and leave me some comments when you get a chance to try it to let me know what you thought of it. Also, check out my previous recipes for more dinner ideas.

Leave a Reply

